latest edition follow us on twitter

Council roles and plans for 2016-17 announced

by Marco Cillario Fri 10 June 2016, 10:39 am

Bromley Council portfolio holders for 2016-17 were appointed at a meeting on 11 May 2016, as the leader announced his plans for the coming months and the council elected its new mayor.

Councillor Stephen Carr, who remains leader of the council, appointed six members of the executive.

Councillor Colin Smith was named deputy leader and portfolio holder for environment. Robert Evans was appointed cabinet member for care services, Peter Fortune for education, Kate Lymer for public protection and safety, Peter Morgan for renewal and recreation, Graham Arthur for resources. David Jefferys is chairman of the health and wellbeing board.

Carr said: “The pressures on local authorities will continue for some years to come so I think it is crucial we make clear how we will achieve our aim of becoming a self-sufficient local authority, essential if we are to protect frontline services and local member priorities.

Carr explained his programme: “Firstly, we will use our growth fund to generate new business rate income and create jobs.

“Second, we will strive to deliver a democratically-led integration of health and social care, crucial if we are going to deliver the types of sustainable services our residents rightly expect and deserve.

“Third, we will renew our efforts to make Bromley stand out as the place people want to live, work, perhaps start new businesses, and spend their leisure time by ensuring our borough is as clean and welcoming as it can be.” 

During the council meeting on 11 May, Councillor Ian Payne of Chislehurst ward was elected mayor of Bromley for 2016-17. As one of his first mayoral duties he appointed Councillor Hannah Gray of West Wickham as deputy mayor.

The full list of the appointments is available here.

Back to news index